top of page
Subject Box Header-01.png


Transit service is provided along the Wasatch Front and in Utah County by the Utah Transit Authority (UTA). UTA operates many types of transit service to accommodate the varied needs of communities and types of trips people are making throughout the region. A robust transit system serves different types of trips (ranging from shorter local trips to longer regional trips) and various transit modes (e.g., commuter rail, light rail, bus rapid transit, express bus, etc.). Different types of transit modes include bus (local bus, express bus, flex bus, and bus rapid transit); train (light rail, commuter rail, and street car); paratransit (specialized service for people who require individualized transit service); vanpool, and other innovative options that utilize technology and on-demand service.


This study is focusing on high-capacity transit service, or transit options that run in separate right-of-way to move more people faster. High-capacity transit serves as the transit backbone, connecting major destinations within the region. This backbone is augmented by local bus service and “first mile/last mile” connections, which include appropriate and safe bicycle and pedestrian connections to transit.

The graphic below compares the three primary types of high-capacity transit: bus rapid transit, light rail transit, and commuter rail transit. For additional context, the graphic also describes express and local bus service.

Table1-1 High Capacity Transit Modal Options.png
South Valley Transit Study Header - Imag
bottom of page